Lost in Translation

303865266_da187dd2c5_o10:32PM

Another feel good Sunday spent with @faizakhbar over projects, chats on films and dinner. Now I know the history of Babel.

—–

So, I was telling him how I wanted to write a story about Jentayu and we were talking magical realism, then we talked about Deepa Mehta’s Midnight Children and then it went to Babel. First, I didn’t know that Babel was the third installment of a trilogy by Alejandro González Iñárritu after Amores Perros and 21 grams. 21 grams is of course my favourite.

Faiz was telling me the underlying link for all the stories in Babel is misscommunication. And then he goes on telling me the history of Babel. I looked it up as well and became fascinated that how the tale of the Tower of Babel talks about how human race was divided and languages were created from this historical event.

Whether it happens or not, that is beside the point. The point it how it was interpreted in the film.

I kind of like the movie, Babel. I had to watch it 2 times because apparently I’m not so smart (as I thought/appear to be).

But what intrigued me most is that how can we interpret an ancient story into modern lives. Which is what I wanted to do with Jentayu.

I’ll take my time writing it. After all, I’ll only die when I reach 40. That’s 9 years for me to create this magic.

One thought on “Lost in Translation”

  1. One evening Nebuchadnezzar had a dream that involved a great image. It was of gold, silver, brass, and iron. The head was of gold. This represented the kingdom of Nebuchadnezzar and was God’s way of acknowledging that Babylon was indeed magnificent. But, as God went on to point out, Babylon would be succeeded by another kingdom represented by the silver arms and chest of the figure, that kingdom by another represented by the figure’s brass middle portions, and then that by a kingdom represented by the legs of iron. It was only at the end of this period that the eternal kingdom of God in Christ would come and overthrow all others, grow and fill the earth. In this vision God was telling Nebuchadnezzar that he was not as important as he thought he was and that it was God Himself who rules history.

Leave a Reply

