Ini bukan cerita mengenai Musim Panas

Narrator: This is a story of boy meets girl. The boy, Tom Hansen of Margate, New Jersey, grew up believing that he’d never truly be happy until the day he met the one. This belief stemmed from early exposure to sad British pop music and a total mis-reading of the movie ‘The Graduate’. The girl, Summer Finn of Shinnecock, Michigan, did not share this belief. Since the disintegration of her parent’s marriage she’d only love two things. The first was her long dark hair. The second was how easily she could cut it off and not feel a thing. Tom meets Summer on January 8th. He knows almost immediately she is who he has been searching for. This is a story of boy meets girl, but you should know upfront, this is not a love story.

Tom: what do you think … why didn’t it work out?

Summer: what always happen. life.

It’s confirmed. The best movie this year, hands down, 500 Days of Summer. f course I’m being biased. Because I’m in love with Zooey Deschanel. Yes. Not that I love her, I AM IN LOVE WITH HER. Okay, maybe I’m a late bloomer. I’ve noticed her quirkiness in “Failure to Launch” as SJP’s housemate but only this year (being the out-dated Abby as usual) when I got the right chance to watch “Yes Man”, she caught my eyes, attention and heart. 😛

There’s something magically talented in Zooey Deschanel that allows her to breathe her own self in most of the characters she plays. And since Allison in “Yes Man”, I have been viewing her interviews on YouTube and realise exactly why I am in love with this actress. Not only that she acts and sings, she’s also funny and have grown up around the world, making her not a typical narrowminded person. Having to grew up around so many places myself, I am biased to liking those who are well-traveled or at least, adaptable to different cultures.

500 Days of Summer opens with one of the funniest Author’s Note I’ve ever read on the screen. It’s crude, blunt and upfront funny right from the very first second.

Truly enough,

This is not a love story. This is a story about love.

This movie has put itself (in my eyes) among Juno and 2 Days in Paris. Maybe my limited movie knowledge constrict it to just being related to those two. I adore how Thomas (Joseph Gordon Levitt) is a hopeless romantic and Summer (Zooey Deschanel) is a carefree spirit who will do and believe what she choses to. His eyes sparks when he talks about her. And the little things that she gives in. The holding hands in IKEA, the cute role-playing, how she wants to know more about his dreams.

The movie takes you to reality of believing in love versus not believing in love. I am of course the worst example for both. I make believe love. It’s true, and sometimes, it works to my advantage as a poet. Sometimes, it confuses me to which life I’m living, and who I actually love.

Of course, if you’re a true fan of this movie and/or the actors, you should check out their remake videoclip for She & Him’s “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here” and of course, just because it’s Zooey’s band. 😉

I’m just in love with the movie and more in love with Zooey Deschanel. So, if you are, at any given chance, are a hopeless romantic who enjoys tremendous amount of comedy, do WATCH THIS MOVIE!

2 thoughts on “Ini bukan cerita mengenai Musim Panas”

  1. Zooey Deschanel had my attention in Yes Man too! there’s just something about her that i fond of so much.. 🙂

    hmm how come i’ve never heard of this 500 days of summer? is it showing now in cinema or have to download / buy the dvd?

Leave a Reply

