Gold Digger bukan direct translation untuk Pisau Cukur

So, it was a long overdue dinner and a supposed movie date, but we used the McD’s Coke Glass as a reason to realise both. Hehehe. Cathy asked if anyone have the pink one since her brother is collecting and I’m willing to swap mine for another colour. Then she said, let’s do dinner and better still, watch a movie. I’m like “Let’s!”. Then she asked if “Pisau Cukur” is okay with me. Well, I rarely watch malay films, I mean, rarely PAY to watch malay films in cinema since I was used to just going for the premiere, but heck yeah, let’s, support the industry, even though I’ll end up criticising as the typical skeptic me.

So, just on the day itself, after we arrived at One Utama, Cathy told me, not only that Maya Tan and Farid Ayam is joining us, but also another 4 other people. Wah, a large group of 8 people to go watch Pisau Cukur. Walawey, like penuh cinema liddat. Good to know that I knew most of the people joining, Fairuz Blur and his friend Dill whom I saw here and there in the art scene. Then the cute twins who joined us, but I have never met them before. 🙂

Queue was crazy due to the premiere of “2012” (as Adi put it, people are lining up for the end of the world), and of course, we manage to get us the 8 tickets.

I vaguely remember a couple of months ago, meeting Bernard Chauly for the first time and he mentioned about this movie. No wonder la it did sound familiar to my ears.

Pisau Cukur is a comedy (me think) about two main characters, Intan (Fazura) and Bella (Maya Karin) who both preys for rich men to marry. It takes place on board a cruise where Bella ends up in pursue of one mysterious rich man and Intan investigating a murder.

I won’t give out much of the storyline since you are welcomed to watch it yourself. I would give it a score of 4/5 for effort, 4/5 for funny and 3/5 for storyline. It did moved on to a different level of the Malay cinema, and I think the art direction is quite good. My favourite shots would be of Faqir and Bella dancing cha cha with the spotlight at the background, the effects are amazing! Of course, the ‘gedik’ness (cheeky) of both main characters is simply nauseating but well, it works. Although I didn’t really like Aaron Aziz because I think he’s over-rated and the silver lining to his singlet spells G-A-Y 😛 Well, I just find it … funny.

Good job for Pisau Cukur. And kids, go watch this slapstick comedy for some feel good in malay film industry.

3 thoughts on “Gold Digger bukan direct translation untuk Pisau Cukur”

Leave a Reply

