The Week with an End (sort of)

Its been awhile since I actually blog blog. Like what I do how my days had been etc etc etc.

Maybe there’s lots to say and yet nothing should be revealed.

Thursday night, I promised Nish to watch her band ‘Thing One’ play at Laundry Bar, The Curve. I was a bit excited because it’ll be the first time I’m seeing Najwa perform live. I have been a fan ever since I’ve stumbled upon her Myspace Page. I decided to do the LONER thing, went there alone, only extended a rather vague invitation to my brother Muid and another friend (since I haven’t met her for so long, just told her I’ll be there incase she wants to meet me but apparently, typical her, no reply. Haha, boohoo me).

Owh yeah, first, I went to Yongie’s place. I have promised to bring her cakes (for her pregnancy cravings) for the past 2 weeks and only manage to execute it after much persuasion and sarcastic reminders on her side (Yongie, I love you still). Serena mentioned about Bijou but I end up in Plaza Mont Kiara’s Secret Recipe and since THE Permaisuri Gunung Prima Pelangi requested 3 different types of cakes, I bought her Yogurt Cheese, Mango Delight, Tiramisu and an American Brownie. Didn’t stay there long, but long enough to get a free manicure after she took out her manicure set and started buffing my nails while we did the sister-talk. Yes, I’m subjected to being an easy guinea pig to the people around me due to my very positive ‘good sport’ attitude. *sigh* *smiles*

Then leaving her house, I went straight to The Curve, walked to Borders, bought me ‘Love in the Time of Cholera’ since it has been awhile since I last bought a book, or read one. Bought the latest issue of OFF The Edge as well since I needed to buy something else to get that 20% discount for the book (I couldn’t find a RM1 pencil or anything). Then straight to Laundry Bar and had a table to myself. Ordered salad for dinner and decided to stay sober the whole night. Bumped into Nish who was busy hosting some friends. Rizal came up to me, didn’t realise he was there, apparently he was there for Infinatez who will be performing before Thing One. Bumped into Andi Infinatez who was my junior back in boarding school. Then saw Najwa and since she knew Rizal, chatted with her a bit before she left to sit with the band members. After the show started, Nish’s friend Alvin came over and since we both were there for Nish, we end up lepaking together as well.

The show was great. Infinatez is good and I think their single which was written by Alvin is superb. Najwa was superb and Thing One, incredibly brilliant! The quality of the music, is so overwhelming. Alvin commented, “You guys played like a bunch of virgins. TIGHT AS HELL!”. Hahaha. I love it. Very tight indeed. The crowd obviously came for Infinatez and Thing One feat. Najwa but the last band was actually very good as well. I bumped into another friend, Alfy, after Alvin left and Nish was busy with her friends, and end up accompanying Alfy for drinks (apparently my goal to stay completely sober was not met that night even after 2 glasses of coke – I was pretty adamant at first). Its my second time meeting Alfy and we talk about writing, since he is a scriptwriter and I’m a poet. And we enjoyed the last band (although I don’t really think R&B Soul is his cup of tea – but having said that, certainly his mug of beer, haha). I had to give it to the singer, who Nish told me from Trinidad, who sang three of my favourite song, Just Friends by MusiqSoulchild, Rapture by Anita Baker and Real Love by Mary J. Blige. Awesomeness!!!

Alfy left and I finished my drink with Nish and left for home.

THING ONE will be playing again with Najwa at Groove Junction This Friday! Be there or … be …… boring!!!

Friday I was domesticated.

Saturday, I had an awesome time celebrating Lilia’s Bachelorette party at BBC, it has been awhile since I really hung out with my girls from school and it was a perfect little party of five, Lilia, her sister Erin, Dayana, Azlin and myself. The band was quite okay, we had a great waiter, Jakil, who actually helped us a lot, later became buddy buddy with me (yes, my networking skills know the real people to deal with, not just high fliers and hobnobbing with the big guns). After a jug off the table, a broken glass and countless songs we danced to, we changed venue to NZ Garden for a more conversation-friendly atmosphere. It was great, having to be able to chat and catch up. Got home at about 3ish. VERY SOBER!

Sunday, FAMILY BREAKFAST at Yongie’s! It was great. And we got a ride to see the renovation progress of her new house and also got to see this unit I’ve been eyeing for. Yes, I am planning to buy a house, an apartment really. I have decided to settle down with myself – a follow up to my celibacy blues. Dating is scarce (blaming it to Swine Flu since Cholera is not happening here) and apparently, the Dating Market has been hti by recession as well. So, my Stimulus Package include buying a house and a credit card to shop at kinkydrawers.com. Hahahahahahaha… Yes, seriously *stern face*

Today is Monday. I decided to call it a MOONday. Its all good people. I got to drool at Holly Miranda’s videoclip again. Muahaha.

Leave a Reply

