Lost ….

 

This morning, as I was brushing my teeth, I realised that my locket, the opal stone as a pendant on my necklace, was gone!

 

And, it was gone since yesterday (refer pic: GAMBAR SELEPAS, taken Sunday, April 15th)

 

The white Opal stone was bought in 1988 by mom in Australia.

 

The mineraloid opal is amorphous SiO2·nH2O; hydrated silicon dioxide, the water content sometimes being as high as 20% but is usually between three and ten percent. Opal ranges from colorless through white, milky blue, gray, red, yellow, green, brown and black. Common opal is truly amorphous, but precious opal does have a structural element. The word opal comes from the Sanskrit upala, the Greek opallios, and the Latin opalus, meaning “precious stone.” Opals are also Australia’s National gemstone.

Opal is a mineraloid gel which is deposited at relatively low temperature and may occur in the fissures of almost any kind of rock, being most commonly found with limonite, sandstone, rhyolite, and basalt.

Opal is one of the mineraloids that can form or replace fossils. The resulting fossils, though not of any extra scientific interest, appeal to collectors.

– information courtesy of wikipedia –

 

I have been wearing the necklace for a good 7 years now, before that, only during Raya holidays, but since 2000, I started wearing it and became attached to it. I only took out my necklace for 2 reasons, X-Ray and to get it cleaned at the jewellery store.

 

I felt lost. I felt incomplete. I haven’t told mom. I’m quite terrified. But I know, things got lost along the journey of our life.

 

I got used to it so much, I never bother to give it a look. When I did, it was gone.

 

Now, I’m wearing the necklace without the great white opal stone.

 

I felt hollow, but I’m not letting go.

 

Let it show, the empty hole at the locket there.

 

Let it show, the hollowness I feel, and the lost that haunts me.

 

I haven’t cried …. not yet.

Leave a Reply

